« R.I.P. Shannon Kiernan | Main | The Mindful Farnsworth »

February 17, 2006

38 Special

This just in! The following teams will not win the 2006 World Series:

Colorado Rockies
Pittsburgh Pirates
Tampa Bay Devil Rays
Kansas City Royals
Florida Marlins
Cincinnati Reds

You heard it here first. OK, this leaves 23 teams in the way of the Yankees 27th ring:

Arizona Diamondbacks
Atlanta Braves
Baltimore Orioles
Boston Red Sox
Chicago Cubs
Chicago White Sox
Cleveland Indians
Detroit Tigers
Houston Astros
LA Angels of Anaheim
Los Angeles Dodgers
Milwaukee Brewers
Minnesota Twins
New York Mets
Oakland Athletics
Philadelphia Phillies
San Diego Padres
San Francisco Giants
Seattle Mariners
St. Louis Cardinals
Texas Rangers
Toronto Blue Jays
Washington Nationals

From this group, there are a half-dozen teams in the A.L. that the Yankees should be concerned about: Red Sox, White Sox, Angels, Blue Jays, Indians and A's.

We know that the Yankees will out-hit the White Sox, Angels and A's. And, hopefully that will offset the fact that those three teams will probably pitch better than the Yankees in 2006.

But, what about the Red Sox, Blue Jays and Indians? All three of these teams have some dangerous bats in their line-up. And, all three of them have some pitchers who can excel.

The fact that Toronto and Boston are in the same division as New York is an issue. That's almost one-quarter of the total schedule for the Yankees to be played against these two teams.

Those are going to be 38 special games for New York this year.

Posted by Steve Lombardi at February 17, 2006 04:34 PM